dirk nowitzki nba finals Dallas Mavericks win 2011 NBA Finals; LeBron James no title with the Miami Heat yetDirk Nowitzki and the Dallas Mavericks have won the 2011 NBA Championship, beating the Miami Heat in six games to bring the first NBA Championship to Dallas. It is also Nowitzki’s first NBA title.

The Miami Heat were considered favorites going into the 2010-11 season. In the off-season LeBron James famously left the Cleveland Cavaliers, his only NBA team so far and a pseudo-hometown, to join Dwyane Wade with the Heat. But it was not enough to overcome Nowitzki and fellow Mavs Tyson Chandler, Shawn Marion and Jason Kidd.

So congrats to the Dallas Mavericks on their first title. Dirk Nowitzki has played for the Mavericks for all 14 years of his NBA career and when he retires and later most likely goes into the NBA Hall of Fame, he can go out a champion.

Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."