dancing-with-the-stars-season-18-cast-ABC.jpgTuesday (March 4) Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews appeared on “Good Morning America” to announced the Season 18 cast of “Dancing With the Stars.”

The new group of stars lacing up their boogie shoes include actress Danica McKellar, singer Cody Simpson, actor Billy Dee Williams, swimmer Diana Nyad, actress/”Real Housewife” Nene Leakes, singer/actor James Maslow, former NHL player Sean Avery, Drew Carey, actress Candace Cameron Bure, Olympic gold medalists Charlie White and Meryl Davis, plus Paralympic snowboarder Amy Purdy, who couldn’t be there for the announcement.

“We’re excited for a little healthy competition,” says Davis, of competing against her gold medal-winning ice dancing partner.

The amateur/pro pairings are as follows:

Danica McKellar and Val Chmerkovskiy
Cody Simpson and Whitney Carson (new pro)
Billy Dee Williams and Emma Slater
Diana Nyad and Henry Byalikov
Nene Leakes and Tony Dovolani
James Maslow and Peta Murgatroyd
Sean Avery and Karina Smirnoff
Drew Carey and Cheryl Burke
Candace Cameron Bure and Mark Ballas
Charlie White and Sharna Burgess
Meryl Davis and Maksim Chmerkovskiy
Amy Purdy and Derek Hough

Hough also made the announcement that the partners are not permanent. There will be a switch-up at some point in the season, with the viewers getting to vote on who they want to see dance together.

“Dancing With the Stars” Season 18 premieres Monday, March 17 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC.
Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."