george clooney getty 320 emmys Emmys 2010: George Clooney to receive fourth ever Bob Hope Humanitarian AwardThe Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced Wednesday (July 21) that George Clooney will be honored with the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award during the 2010 Emmy Awards.

This is just the fourth time in history the award has been given out — Oprah Winfrey was the inaugural recipient in 2002, Bill Cosby was honored in 2003 and Danny Thomas was given the award posthumously in 2004. The award is given to an individual in the telecommunications industry whose huanitarian work has brought credit to the industry and whose actions will have a lasting impact on society.

Clooney was chosen for the award due to his advocacy to stop the genocide in Darfur and subsequent founding of Not on Our Watch, and his mobilization of the entertainment industry in the wake of 9/11, Hurricane Katrina and the Haiti earthquake.

“George was an obvious choice for this honor,” said John Shaffner,
Chairman and CEO, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. “He has
understood and harnessed the power of television, the most powerful
medium of our time, to reach into the hearts of people around the world
and compelled us to action on behalf of those in sudden and desperate
need as well those tragically oppressed in Darfur.”

The 2010 Primetime Emmys will air on Sunday, Aug. 29 at 8 p.m. ET on NBC.

Follow Zap2it and Zap2it Andrea on Twitter and Zap2it
on Facebook
for the latest TV, movie and celebrity news.

Photo credit: Getty Images

Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."