jay leno mark twain prize Jay Leno will receive the Mark Twain Prize for American HumorJay Leno has been named the recipient of the 2014 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, joining a distinguished list of America’s funniest people.

The former “Tonight Show” host will be honored at the Kennedy Center in Washington on Oct. 19. The event will be broadcast on PBS stations Nov. 23.

“What an honor!” Leno says in a statement, which he follows with a joke: “I’m a big fan of Mark Twain’s. In fact, ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ is one of my favorite books.”

Leno will be the 17th person to receive the Mark Twain Prize. Carol Burnett was last year’s honoree; past recipients also include Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Ellen DeGeneres, Carl Reiner and Bill Cosby.

Posted by:Rick Porter