marvels agents of shield fall lineup abc 'Ray Donovan,' 'S.H.I.E.L.D.' are Critics' Choice most exciting new series; Bob Newhart earns Icon AwardThe Broadcast Television Journalists Association has announced the most exciting new series of 2013-14 and also the recipient of the 2013 Television Icon Award.

The six most exciting new series include Showtime’s “Ray Donovan” and “Masters of Sex,” FX’s “The Bridge,” CBS’ “Under the Dome,” ABC’s “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.” and NBC’s “The Michael J. Fox Show.”

In addition, legendary actor/comedian Bob Newhart will receive the Television Icon Award at the 3rd annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards, taking place Monday, June 10 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The awards are going to be hosted by “Parks and Recreation’s” Retta. Celebrity presenters include Malin Akerman, Angela Bassett, Hugh Dancy, Allison Janney, Elisabeth Moss, Adam Pally, Aubrey Plaza, Jimmy Smits, Eric Stonestreet and Sam Trammell.

Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."