robert griffin iii adrian peterson nfl Robert Griffin III and Adrian Peterson score NFL honorsMinnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson capped a monster season by being named the NFL’s most valuable player.

Peterson also won the Associated Press honor for Offensive Player of the Year following a season in which he rushed for 2,097 yards, the second-most in NFL history.

Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III easily won the Offensive Rookie of the Year award, beating out fellow QBs Andrew Luck of the Indianapolis Colts and Russell Wilson of the Seattle Seahawks. All three led their teams to the playoffs.

Peyton Manning, who finished second to Peterson in the MVP voting, won the Comeback Player of the Year award. He missed all of the 2011 season following neck surgery, was released by the Colts in March and signed with the Denver Broncos.

The NFL also named its Hall of Fame class for 2013 on Saturday (Feb. 2), led by Super Bowl-winning coach Bill Parcells, defensive tackle Warren Sapp and wide receiver Cris Carter.

The full list of NFL honors:

MVP: Adrian Peterson, Vikings

Offensive Player of the Year: Peterson

Defensive Player of the Year: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Robert Griffin III, Washington Redskins

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers

Comeback Player of the Year: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

Coach of the Year: Bruce Arians, Indianapolis Colts

Hall of Fame class: Bill Parcells, coach; Cris Carter, wide receiver; Warren Sapp, defensive tackle; Larry Allen, offensive lineman; Jonathan Ogden, offensive lineman; Curley Culp, defensive lineman (senior selection); Dave Robinson, linebacker (senior selection)

Posted by:Rick Porter