fruitvale station independent spirit awards winner Film Independent Spirit Awards 2014 winners list: Jared Leto, 'Fruitvale Station' and moreThe 2014 Independent Spirit Awards air on Saturday (March 1) at 10 p.m. on IFC, but the awards were given out earlier in the day in an overcast and slightly rainy Santa Monica, Calif. The big winners included Jared Leto for “Dallas Buyers Club,” “Fruitvale Station,” “Short Term 12” and more.

Read on for the day’s big winners at the ceremony, which was hosted by Patton Oswalt.

Best Screenplay

John Ridley – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Editing

Nat Sanders – “Short Term 12”

Best First Feature

“Fruitvale Station” – Director Ryan Coogler and producers Nina Yang Bongiovi and Forest Whitaker

Best Supporting Male

Jared Leto – “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best First Screenplay

Bob Nelson – “Nebraska”

Best Cinematography
Sean Bobbitt – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Male Lead
Matthew McConaughey – “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett – “Blue Jasmine”

Best Director
Steve McQueen – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Documentary
“20 Feet From Stardom”

Best International Film
“Blue Is the Warmest Color” (France)

Best Supporting Female
Lupita Nyong’o – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Feature
“12 Years a Slave”

Posted by:Jean Bentley