oprah winfrey james earl jones Oprah, James Earl Jones to receive honorary OscarsThe Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences awards honorary Oscars every year at the cinematic awards show and this year the honors will be bestowed upon Oprah Winfrey, James Earl Jones and make-up artist Dick Smith.

Oprah will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, given to an individual in the motion
picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the
industry, while James Earl Jones will receive the honorary Academy Award for lifetime achievement. Smith is also receiving a lifetime achievement award.

Neither Oprah nor Jones has ever won an Oscar. Oprah was nominated in 1985 for Best Supporting Actress for her work in “The Color Purple,” while Jones was nominated in 1970 for Best Actor for “The Great White Hope.”

Smith won an Oscar in 1984 for “Amadeus” and was nominated again in 1989 for “Dad.” He has also won awards from the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror films for his work on “The Exorcist,” “Scanners” and “Altered States.”

Congratulations to all of them on their awards.

Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."