2014 NewNowNext Awards: Sam Smith, Ansel Elgort, Natalie Dormer and others win big

The 2014 NewNowNext Awards might not air until Sunday (Dec. 7) night, but the list of winners is already in.

The event — which airs on LogoTV and is a farewell party for 2014 and predictor to who and what will dominate pop culture in the following year — took place on Tuesday (Dec. 2) in Miami South Beach, FL. Awards were given out for this year’s breakthrough movies, TV shows, music and stars.

Take a look at who won big at the Darren Criss-hosted affair.

Best New Television Series

“Broad City”

“How To Get Away With Murder”

WINNER: “Looking”



Best New Television Actor

Jay Duplass, “Transparent”

WINNER: Jonathan Groff, “Looking”

Thomas Middleditch, “Silicon Valley”

Pedro Pascal, “Game of Thrones”

Justin Theroux, “The Leftovers”

Best New Television Actress

Ilana Glazer, “Broad City”

Gaby Hoffmann, “Transparent”

Molly Parker, “House of Cards”

Katie Stevens, “Faking It”

WINNER: Lorraine Toussaint, “Orange is the New Black”

Best New Television Personality

Pete Davidson, “Saturday Night Live”

WINNER: Bianca Del Rio, “RuPaul’s Drag Race”

John Oliver, “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Gwen Stefani, “The Voice”

Neil deGrasse Tyson, “Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey”

Best Motion Picture By a New Filmmaker

WINNER: “Dear White People,” Justin Simien

“The Fault in Our Stars,” Josh Boone

“Guardians of the Galaxy,” James Gunn

“Snowpiercer,” Bong Joon-ho

“The Theory of Everything,” James Marsh

Best New Screenwriter

WINNER: Gillian Flynn, “Gone Girl”

Craig Johnson (with Mark Heyman), “The Skeleton Twins”

Gillian Robespierre, “Obvious Child”

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, “Love Is Strange”

Justin Simien, “Dear White People”

Best New Lead Film Actor

Ellar Coltrane, “Boyhood”

WINNER: Ansel Elgort, “The Fault In Our Stars”

Dylan O’Brien, “The Maze Runner”

Chris Pratt, “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Miles Teller, “Whiplash”

Best New Lead Film Actress

Carrie Coon, “Gone Girl”

WINNER: Natalie Dormer, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1”

Gugu Mbatha-Raw, “Belle”

Rosamund Pike, “Gone Girl”

Jenny Slate, “Obvious Child”

Best New Musician (Male)


Nick Jonas

John Newman

Paolo Nutini

WINNER: Sam Smith

Best New Musician (Female)

Iggy Azalea

Charli XCX

Mary Lambert

Meghan Trainor

WINNER: Betty Who

Best New Music Group

WINNER: A Great Big World





Best New Broadway Production (Musical)

“Beautiful: The Carole King Musical”


WINNER: “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”


“Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill”

Best New Broadway Production (Play)

WINNER: “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

“It’s Only a Play”

“Mothers and Sons”

“A Raisin in The Sun”

“This Is Our Youth”

Best New Broadway Lead Actor

Michael Cera, “This Is Our Youth”

Bryan Cranston, “All The Way”

Rupert Grint, “It’s Only a Play”

Chris O’Dowd, “Of Mice and Men”

WINNER: Alexander Sharp, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best New Broadway Lead Actress

Rose Byrne, “You Can’t Take It With You”

Tavi Gevinson, “This Is Our Youth”

Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Real Thing”

WINNER: Sophie Okonedo, “A Raisin in The Sun”

Michelle Williams, “Cabaret”

Winners in fashion, art, literature, and social media:

Best New Fashion Designer

Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Best New Author (Fiction)

Mira Jacob, “The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing”

Best New Art Exhibition

Kara Walker, “A Subtlety”

Best New Social Influencer (Male):

Troye Sivan, YouTube: Troye Sivan

Best New Social Influencer (Female):

Brittany Furlan, Vine: Brittany Furlan

The 2014 NewNowNext Awards air on Sunday, Dec. 7 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on LogoTv.