american idol top12 s9 320 'American Idol': Top 12 includes Casey James, Crystal Bowersox, Tim Urban“American Idol” dragged out its results show with even more drama Thursday (March 11) to announce the Top 12.

Making the cut for the girls were Didi Benami, Siobhan Magnus, Paige Miles, Crystal Bowersox, Lacey Brown and Katie Stevens.

On the other side, these guys made it: Casey James, Tim Urban, Lee Dewyze, “Big Mike” Lynche, Aaron Kelly and Andrew Garcia.

That means we bid farewell to Katelyn Epperly (surprise!), Todrick Hall (who rocked his swan song), Alex Lambert (sorry, mushy banana) and Lilly Scott (whuh?).

It was an odd evening overall, with the Top 16 getting peppy with Michael Buble’s “Just Haven’t Met You Yet.” It’s a fun song, but works better perhaps with certain personalities (Crystal looked awkward) and far less people.

The second planned musical event for the evening (we’re not counting the ejectee’s goodbye songs), brought back Scott McIntyre and Matt Giraud on piano covering Billy Joel’s “Tell Her About It.” Once again, one too many people? Scotty promoted his album “Heartstrings.”

As the 12 empty stools filled up, there were a few awkward moments, like when Michael Lynche stood on the wrong side of Ryan Seacrest. And then, trying to be witty and let Big Mike know he made it, Ryan asked, “Do you think you can fit on one stool?” Miscalculation there, Ryan, but we heard you try to save it.

We’re a bit outraged by some of the people who went or stayed, but that’s what you voted for, America. At least next week we can look forward to a Rolling Stones playlist.

Whoa, a few surprises there. Do you agree with who got chosen?

Follow   Zap2it on Twitter and Facebook and Zap2itHanh on Twitter for the latest movies, TV and celeb news


Zap2it’s State of the ‘American Idol’ Union
‘American Idol’s’ Kevin Covais picks his Top 12
Syesha Mercado on Todrick Hall, ‘Dreamgirls’ and her debut album
Adam Lambert ‘Unplugged’ on ‘Mad World,’ ‘Down the Rabbit Hole’
‘American Idol’ recaps

Photo credit: FOX

Posted by:Hanh Nguyen