tour de france bradley wiggins team sky gi Bradley Wiggins wins 2012 Tour de FranceBradley Wiggins on Sunday (July 22) became the first British cyclist to win the Tour de France when the annual race wrapped up with its processional stage into Paris. Teammate Chris Froome came in second and Italian Vincenzo Nibali of Italy finished third.

The last time two riders from the same country finished first and second was in  1984, when Frenchman Laurent Fignon edged Bernard Hinault, reports the Associated Press.

Team Sky’s Mark Cavendish sprinted to the finish for a stage win, his fourth on the Champs-Elysees, setting up handily for the upcoming Olympics where he hopes to take gold in Saturday’s Olympic road race.

The top 10 overall riders at race’s end:

1. Bradley Wiggins (ENG/SKY) 84hr 26min 31sec

2. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 3:21

3. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/LIQ) 6:19

4. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) 10:15

5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 11:04

6. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/RNT) 15:43

7. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 15:51

8. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) 16:31

9. Janez Brajkovic (SLO/AST) 16:38

10. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 17:17

Posted by:Liz Kelly Nelson