art directors guild nominees community american horror story homeland 'Community,' 'American Horror Story' and 'Homeland' among the nominees for the Art Directors Guild awards

They’re not the Oscars, but it’s still good that there are awards for the people who make our television and film experiences so visually stunning. The Art Directors Guild has just announced the nominees for its 2012 awards.

The Guild honors production designers in television, film and advertising, dividing each medium into distinct categories. The result is that some productions not used to getting a lot of awards love do in fact get mentioned.

Take “Community” for example. While you’d be hard-pressed to find a TV critic who doesn’t think this is one of TV’s best comedies, the show gets nominated for virtually zero awards. The Art Directors Guild, however, took notice when appropriate — the bizarre, visually interesting and incredible “Pillows and Blankets” episode (a Zap2It pick for one of the best episodes of the year) is nominated.

Of course, lots of the usual suspects make the list as well — movies like “Django Unchained” and TV shows like “Homeland” and “Downton Abbey” are represented.

The 17th annual Art Directors Guild awards will be handed out Feb. 2 in Beverly Hills. Comedian Paula Poundstone will host the ceremony.

Check out all of the nominees below:

One-Hour Single Camera Television Series

  • “Boardwalk Empire” — Episode: “Resolution” — Bill Groom
  • “Downton Abbey” — Episode: “Christmas Special” — Donal Woods
  • “Game of Thrones” — Episode: “The Ghost of Harrenhal” — Gemma Jackson
  • “Homeland” — Episode: “The Choice” — John D. Kretschmer
  • “The Newsroom” — Episode: “We Just Decided To” — Richard Hoover

Episode of a Half-Hour Single-Camera Television Series

Television Movie or Mini-Series

Episode of a Multi-Camera, Variety or Unscripted Series

Awards, Music or Game Shows

  • 84th Annual Academy Awards — John Myhre
  • Grammy Nomination Concert Live — Matthew Russell
  • Super Bowl XLVI Halftime Show — Bruce Rodgers
  • The 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards — Steve Bass
  • 49th Annual American Music Awards — Joe Stewart

Period Film

  • “Anna Karenina” — Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood
  • “Argo” — Sharon Seymour
  • “Django Unchained” — J. Michael Riva
  • “Les Miserables” — Eve Stewart
  • “Lincoln” — Rick Carter

Fantasy Film

  • “Cloud Atlas” — Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup
  • “Life of Pi” — David Gropman
  • “Prometheus” — Arthur Max
  • “The Dark Knight Rises” — Nathan Crowley, Kevin Kavanaugh
  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” — Dan Hannah

Contemporary Film

  • “Flight — Nelson Coates
  • “Skyfall” — Dennis Gassner
  • “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” — Alan MacDonald
  • “The Impossible” — Eugenio Caballero
  • “Zero Dark Thirty” — Jeremy Hindle

Commercials and Music Videos

  • Budweiser — “The Return of the King” — Jason Hamilton
  • Macy’s — “Dream” — Carlos A. Menendez
  • Nike — “Fast Is Faster” — Tino Schaedler
  • Nike + — “Game on World” — James Chinlund
  • X-Box — “Halo 4 Commissioning” — Christopher Glass

Posted by:Laurel Brown