modernfamily 290 'Glee,' 'Modern Family' break through with Writers GuildSeveral usual suspects — “30 Rock,” “Mad Men,” “The Office,” “The Simpsons” — picked up multiple nominations for the 2010 Writers Guild of America Awards — but a couple of new shows broke through too.

“Glee” and “Modern Family” are both up for best comedy and best new series at the guild’s awards, which will be presented Feb. 20. “Modern Family” also picked up an episodic comedy nomination for its pilot, written by series creators Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd.

The other comedy series nominees are “30 Rock,” “Curb Your Enthusiasm” and “The Office.” For drama series, the contenders are “Breaking Bad,” “Dexter,” “Friday Night Lights,” “Lost” and “Mad Men.” Someone from “The Simpsons” will win in the animation category, as its writers swept all five nominations.

Below is a partial list of the nominees in the TV and radio categories (movie nominations will be announced later). The complete list is at

Drama series

“Breaking Bad”
“Friday Night Lights”
“Mad Men”

Comedy series

“30 Rock”
“Curb Your Enthusiasm”
“Modern Family”
“The Office”

New series

“The Good Wife”
“Modern Family”
“Nurse Jackie”

Episodic drama

“Broken, Parts 1 and 2” (“House”), Russel Friend, Garrett Lerner, David Foster and David Shore
“Come Ye Saints” (“Big Love”), Melanie Marnich
“The Grown Ups” (“Mad Men”), Brett Johnson and Matthew Weiner
“Guy Walks into an Advertising Agency” (“Mad Men”), Robin Veith and Matthew Weiner
“I Will Rise Up” (“True Blood”), Nancy Oliver
“Phoenix” (“Breaking Bad”), John Shiban

Episodic comedy

“Apollo, Apollo” (“30 Rock”), Robert Carlock
“Broke” (“The Office”), Charles Grandy
“Chapter 1” (“Eastbound & Down”), Ben T. Best, Jody L. Hill and Danny McBride
“Gossip” (“The Office”), Paul Lieberstein
“Pilot” (“Modern Family”), Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd
“Reunion” (“30 Rock”), Matt Hubbard

Long form – original

“Georgia O’Keefe,” Michael Cristofer
“Grey Gardens,” teleplay by Michael Sucsy and Patricia Rozema, story by Michael Sucsy
“Pedro,” teleplay by Dustin Lance Black, story by Paris Barclay and Dustin Lance Black

Long form – adaptation

“America,” teleplay by Joyce Eliason and Rosie O’Donnell, based on the novel by E.R. Frank
“Taking Chance,” teleplay by Michael R. Strobl and Ross Katz, based on the short story by Michael R. Strobl


“The Burns and the Bees” (“The Simpsons”), Stephanie Gillis
“Eeny Teeny Maya, Moe” (“The Simpsons”), John Frink
“Gone Maggie Gone” (“The Simpsons”), Billy Kimball and Ian Maxtone-Graham
“Take My Life, Please” (“The Simpsons”), Don Payne
“Wedding for Disaster” (“The Simpsons”), Joel H. Cohen

Follow Zap2it on Twitter and Facebook for all the latest TV, movie and celebrity news.

Photo credit: ABC

Posted by:Rick Porter