hurt locker 320 'Hurt Locker' tops BAFTA Awards with six wins“The Hurt Locker” isn’t feeling any pain right now.

Following on the heels of an original screenplay prize at the Writers Guild of America awards, “The Hurt Locker” took an impressive six awards home from the 2010 Orange British Academy Film Awards, the British equivalent of the Oscars, on Sunday (Feb. 21).

The Iraq war drama won for best film, best director for Kathryn Bigelow, original screenplay for Mark Boal, cinematography, editing and sound.

“The Hurt Locker” has been on a roll lately. Besides the WGA, the Directors Guild of America also recognized Bigelow with their top prize. With the Oscars just around the corner, it bodes well for “The Hurt Locker.”

Of interest to the “Twilight” fans is Kristen Stewart’s win for the Orange Rising Star Award. Stewart, who plays Bella in the “Twilight” saga and stars in the Sundance hits “The Runaways” and “Welcome to the Rileys,” beat out Carey Mulligan, Jesse Eisenberg, Nicholas Hoult and Tahar Rahim for the prize.

The full list of BAFTA Awards:

Best Film

“The Hurt Locker” – Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro


“The Hurt Locker” – Kathryn Bigelow

Leading Actress
“An Education” – Carey Mulligan

Leading Actor

“A Single Man” – Colin Firth

Best Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique –  “Precious: Based on ‘Push’ a novel by Sapphire”

Best Supporting Actor

Christoph Waltz –  “Inglourious Basterds”

Outstanding British Film
“Fish Tank” – Kees Kasander, Nick Laws, Andrea Arnold

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Duncan Jones for “Moon”

Non-English Language Film
“A Prophet” – Pascal Caucheteux, Marco Cherqui, Alix Raynaud, Jacques Audiard

Animated Film
“Up” – Pete Docter

Original Screenplay

“The Hurt Locker” – Mark Boal

Adapted Screenplay
“Up in the Air” – Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner

The Orange Rising Star Award
Kristen Stewart

Production Design
“Avatar” – Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair

Hair and Makeup

Jenny Shircore – “The Young Victoria”

Costume Design
Sandy Powell –  “The Young Victoria”

Special Visual Effects

“Avatar” – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones

“The Hurt Locker” – Barry Ackroyd

“The Hurt Locker” – Bob Murawski, Chris Innis

“The Hurt Locker” – Ray Beckett, Paul N. J. Ottosson


“Up” – Michael Giacchino

Short Animation
“Mother of Many” – Sally Arthur, Emma Lazenby

Short Film
“I Do Air” – James Bolton, Martina Amati

Follow   Zap2it on Twitter and Facebook and Zap2itHanh on Twitter for the latest movies, TV and celeb news


‘Hurt Locker,’ ‘Up in the Air’ win Writers Guild awards
‘The Hurt Locker,’ ‘Mad Men,’ ‘Modern Family’ nab DGA awards

Photo credit: Summit Entertainment

Posted by:Hanh Nguyen