lee daniels wire Lee Daniels first African American Directors Guild of America nomineeThe 2010 Directors Guild of America nominees include Lee Daniels for “Precious,” the first African-American nominee for this award.

The official title for the directing award is the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2009 and features the following nominees:

Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker.”

Bigelow is only the seventh woman to be nominated in the Feature Film category for direction (past female nominees include Lina Wertmuller for “Seven Beauties,” Randa Haines for “Children of a Lesser God,” Barbra Streisand for “Prince of Tides,” Jane Campion for “The Piano,” Sofia Coppola for “Lost in Translation” and Valerie Faris, who shared the nomination with Jonathan Dayton for “Little Miss Sunshine.” A female has never won the DGA award but maybe this is the year — Bigelow has already won Best Director from a number of critics’ associations.

James Cameron, “Avatar”

This is Cameron’s second nomination. He was previously nominated in 1997 for “Titanic.” This is the first time ex-spouses have been nominated — Cameron was previously married to Bigelow.

Lee Daniels, “Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Daniels is the first African-American nominee for this award. If this lineup repeats for the Academy Awards, Daniels will be only the second African-American nominee for the Directing Oscar (John Singleton was nominated for the 1991 movie “Boyz in the Hood”). Interestingly, Daniels is the only DGA nominee not nominated for a Golden Globe in directing — Clint Eastwood replaces him on that list.

Jason Reitman, “Up in the Air”

This is Reitman’s first DGA nomination, though he received an Oscar nomination for directing “Juno” in 2007. He is the son of director Ivan Reitman, who brought us such great 80s movies as “Stripes” and “Ghostbusters.”

Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”

Tarantino was previously nominated for this DGA award for 1994 movie “Pulp Fiction.” He also received a Best Director Oscar nomination for “Pulp Fiction.”

Only six times in the 61-year history of the DGA awards has the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in a Feature Film winner not gone on to win the Academy Award for Best Director so when the winner is announced on Jan. 30, 2010 at the 62nd Annual DGA Awards Dinner, we should have a decent idea of who is taking home the Oscar.

Follow Zap2it on Twitter and Facebook for the latest movies, TV and celeb news


The Golden Globes nominees for Best Director
‘The Hurt Locker’ sweeps National Society of Film Critics awards

Photo credit: WireImage

Posted by:Andrea Reiher

TV critic by way of law school, Andrea Reiher enjoys everything from highbrow drama to clever comedy to the best reality TV has to offer. Her TV heroes include CJ Cregg, Spencer Hastings, Diane Lockhart, Juliet O'Hara and Buffy Summers. TV words to live by: "I'm a slayer, ask me how."