hurt locker 320 'The Hurt Locker,' 'Mad Men,' 'Modern Family' nab DGA awardsKathryn Bigelow has nabbed the Directors Guild of America award for her work on “The Hurt Locker.”

The feature film award and other directorial achievement awards were announced during the 62nd Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, Jan. 30 in Los Angeles, hosted by Carl Reiner.
In the past, the DGA’s feature film award winner has been a decent predictor of who will win the best director Oscar. Since 1948, the DGA and Academy have only differed six times in that category.

Bigelow beat out fellow directors James Cameron (“Avatar”), Lee Daniels ( “Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”), Jason Reitman (“Up in the Air”) and Quentin Tarantino (“Inglourious Basterds”).

The other awards in directorial achievement follow:


Louie Psihoyos, “The Cove”

Dramatic Series Night

Lesli Linka Glatter, “Mad Men” episode “Guy Walks Into an Advertising Agency” (AMC)

Comedy Series

Jason Winer, “Modern Family” “Pilot” episode (ABC)

Movies for Television/Mini-series
Ross Katz, “Taking Chance” (HBO)

Musical Variety
Don Mischer, “We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial” (HBO)

Reality Programs

Craig Borders, “Build It Bigger Season,” “Hong Kong Bridge” episode (Discovery Science)

Daytime Serials
Christopher Goutman, “As the World Turns,” “Once Upon a Time” (CBS)

Children’s Programs
Allison Liddi-Brown, “Princess Protection Program” (Disney Channel)

Tom Kuntz – Cadbury “Eyebrows,” Skittles “Tailor,” Old Spice “Scents for Gents,” Career Builder “Tips”

In addition, Norman Jewison, Robert Iger, Barry Meyer, Roger Goodman, Cleve Landsberg and Maria Jimenez Henley received various service and achievement awards.

Follow Zap2itHanh on TwitterZap2it on Twitter and Facebook for the latest movies, TV and celeb news


Lee Daniels first African-American Directors Guild of America nominee
‘Glee,’ ‘Mad Men,’ ‘Modern Family’ garner Directors Guild nominations

Photo credit: Summit Entertainment

Posted by:Hanh Nguyen