van halen tour Van Halen releases 'Tattoo,' first tune with David Lee Roth in 16 yearsThe band is finally back together…well almost. After a 16-year hiatus, Van Halen has reemerged with David Lee Roth on lead vocals, and the famed rockers have released the first single from their forthcoming album “A Different Kind of Truth.”

The song, titled “Tattoo,” features three of the four original band members – Roth, Eddie Van Halen and Alex Van Halen. The only missing original member is bassist Michael Anthony, who has been replaced in favor of Eddie’s son Wolfgang.

It’s a perfectly passable song, but it’s not going to replace “Panama” or “Unchained” anytime soon in the hierarchy of VH tunes. Wolfgang is fine on bass, but he doesn’t offer the same harmony skills that the under-appreciated Anthony brought to the group.

This is Roth’s first time singing with the group since he briefly rejoined the band for a greatest hits album in 1996. This effort delivered two songs, the better of which is the blistering “Me Wise Magic.”

But for now, it’s Van Halen 2012. The new album is set for a Feb. 7 release.

Here’s the video. What do you think?

Van Halen – Tattoo from Van Halen on Vimeo.

Posted by:David Eckstein