wwe payback results WWE Payback results: John Cena retains Championship title   Full winners list

John Cena has retained his title as WWE Champion for another year. In the first-ever WWE Payback event, Cena faced off against Ryback in a Three Stages of Hell challenge and managed to come out the victor.

Though Cena held on to his title, there were plenty of reigning champions who lost their throne at the June 16 pay-per-view event produced by WWE. Curtis Axel replaced Wade Barrett as Intercontinental Championship Match winner, Kaitlyn lost to A.J. Lee in the Divas Championship match and Alberto Del Rio took home the World Heavyweight Championship Match title from Dolph Ziggler.

CM Punk won his match against Chris Jericho, which is the first time he’s appeared since Wrestlemania. Meanwhile, it was announced that Rob Van Dam would be returning to the company after being away for years.

Here is the full winners list from the seven rounds of fights. The person in bold won the match:

Intercontinental Championship Match – Curtis Axel vs. The Miz vs. Wade Barrett
Divas Championship Match – A.J. Lee vs. Kaitlyn
United States Championship Match – Dean Ambrose vs. Kane
World Heavyweight Championship Match – Alberto Del Rio vs. Dolph Ziggler
Singles Championship Match – CM Punk vs. Chris Jericho
Tag Team Championship Match – The Shield vs. Team RKNo
Three Stages of Hell for the WWE Championship – John Cena vs. Ryback

Posted by:Terri Schwartz