daytona 500 winner 2014 Daytona 500: Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins after record rain delay

After hours and hours, the Daytona 500 NASCAR race has come to a close, with Dale Earnhardt Jr. claiming the victory. The 2014 edition of the race lasted well into the night after a red flag caused an over six-hour delay, due to severe weather and a tornado warning. The grandstand was evacuated as heavy rain poured down, but there ended up being no tornado.
Once the rain finally passed, the lengthy process of drying the track began, before the race finally resumed at around 8:52 p.m. ET. From there, the race had your normal mix of racing and crashes, with Danica Patrick and Michael Waltrip among those knocked out during an accident on lap 146.
When it got down to the final 10 laps, there was another notable crash that put the racers under caution, though they were able to speed things back up during the final two laps. As Earnhardt Jr. neared the checkered flag, there was yet another crash behind him, bringing the end of another Daytona 500.
This is Earnhardt Jr.’s second Daytona 500 win of his career and the longest delay in the history of the race.
Posted by:Chris E. Hayner

Chris E. Hayner is equal parts nerd, crazy person and coffee. He watches too much TV, knows more about pro wrestling than you do and remembers every single show from the TGIF lineup. You may have seen him as a pro-shark protester in "Sharknado 3." His eventual memoir will be called "You're Wrong, Here's Why..." TV words to live by: "I'm a firm believer that sometimes it's right to do the wrong thing."